Really? I mean seriously?

The title of this blog was my exact response to a letter I received today and a phone call I received last week. Both from a law office that couldn’t be any more irresponsible if their life depended on it. I have been waiting 2 years to receive information regarding my husband’s immigration case/ status. I was assured by said law office they would notify me as soon as he was eligible to apply for a particular Visa that was pending in legislation 3 years back.

National Visa Center never contacted me.

Law office never contacted me.

Last Thursday I got a phone call informing me I was about to lose everything I previously paid them for because well, I never contacted the NVC about my husband’s Visa.

The law office told me that after I filed his first stage of immigration paperwork, no one would contact me and I had to wait to see if the legislation passed in order to apply any further. Oh…and they would notify me when said legislation passed.

I explained I never was contacted and that “she” (the legal assistant) promised to notify me as soon as we were eligible.

*crickets*

Now we are being threatened with everything we had worked so hard for to be thrown away. Phhbbbtttttt.

Now here I sit completely unable to work and ready to file disability only to find out that I may have to start everything from scratch because I followed everything I was told to do by the letter. Isn’t that wonderful? I am thrilled *insert sarcasm here* to death. It damn near may be the death of me. They need “X” amount of money and a lawyer to call and beg them for an extension. Again, I am unable to work. I feel so defeated. I feel so let down. I feel like even when you try to do the right thing, it doesn’t work in your favor. The case will cost me a total of $3500 I could make a down payment but 340 of that is upfront (for the visa) and I need a deposit which is usually HALF of that, meaning around 1000 dollars or more. I hate to think my first $2000.00 plus dollars is going to be a wasted amount of money and time and effort. So if you have an immigration case, please don’t be stupid and trusting. Be very very aggressive. These people don’t give a damn about anything but their money.

About Human Rights Advocate

Some people know me as the Fruit Fly! I used to host a radio show with a similar name. Now I am just Susan. I advocate for Human Rights because the world needs a voice. I founded a project called We Are 1 Voice" and we advocate for education, peaceful thinking and unity. We give people a Voice to be heard. Please see our blog project or visit weare1voice.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

